ABRSM Pop Performer! Review

Motivation in the preliminary stages of learning to play an instrument can often be given more than an initial kick-start or impetus if the repertoire is chosen that the pupil loves and is really keen to play. If a student is a great fan of ABBA, then it makes sense that he/she would be really thrilled to be able to play one of their top hits by themselves.… Read more

Donald Thomson’s Book Review

Piano collections by Donald Thomson are colourful, immediate, and arrestingly communicative anthologies of solo piano music and all three are more than fair reflections of Donald’s most persuasive personality.

As a fellow Scot, I was immediately attracted to ‘Celtic Piano Music’, the impressive compendium at the intermediate to advanced level which is in fact, made up of several anthologies that initially appeared independently.… Read more

Review – Graded Pieces for Piano by William Gillock, Edited by Andrew Eales

In the UK Gillock is especially loved for a handful of memorable miniatures that regularly appear on set repertoire lists for grade examinations. ‘New Orleans Nightfall’ in particular has proved to be an outstandingly popular choice for grade five candidates, though ‘Mister Trumpet Man’ and ‘Carnival in Rio’ are also firmly established as frequent choices for young players at festivals, concerts, and exams.… Read more

EVC Music: Press & Reviews Roundup Winter 2022

January and February 2022 brought some great press, reviews and feedback from our customers.

International Piano Magazine featured the newly released Celtic Piano Music by Scottish composer Donald Thomson in the Jan-Feb 2022 issue.

Order on MusicRoom.com >
Order on EVC website >
Order on Amazon >
Trade orders Hal Leonard Europe >

Andrew Eales (Pianodao.com)… Read more

EVC book reviews by Andrew Eales

Andrew Eales offers balanced, independent reviews of a wide range of music suitable for players of all levels. The aim of the Pianodao website is to inform, encourage and offer practical wisdom to help and support piano players and teachers.

Piano Tales for Alice by Nikki Iles

April 27, 2018
Elementary repertoire
The rise and rise of EVC Music Publications as an exciting and innovative music publisher can’t have escaped the notice of any player or teacher active on social media, and like many I have watched their emergence over the last three years or so with growing interest.… Read more

This site uses cookies to offer you a better browsing experience. By browsing this website, you agree to our use of cookies.